Gmail Undo Send Officially Available, Turn it On Now

If we look back, Gmail has Undo Send as an experimental labs feature for more than 6 years. But today, it’s finally made its way out of the lab to officially become a regular part of Gmail.

To avoid future embarrassment of sending inappropriate emails to the wrong recipients, you should turn this feature on right now, assuming you are already a happy Gmail user.

Go to your Gmail inbox, click the gear icon mail_gear in the top right corner, and select Settings.

Gmail - Settings - 2015-06-24 22_53_11

Scroll down to Undo Send section. Check the option “Enable Undo Send“, and select the panic period in 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds.

Gmail - Settings - undo send - 2015-06-24 22_55_24

Scroll down to the bottom of the page, click Save Changes button to save the setting changes.

From now on, every time when you send an email, you will have a message with Undo link to cover your ass for certain amount of seconds before it’s too late.

Gmail - Undo link - 2015-06-24 23_00_30

Even though it’s an official feature now, it works the same as it’s in the Lab. It still can’t pull back an email that’s already gone. It just holds your message for certain amount of seconds so you have a chance to hit the panic button.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.